BPL: Shakib returns to Rangpur

As for the first time, BPL will be taking place twice in a calendar year, some big signings have already started taking place. The most recent is Shakib Al Hasan’s second stint with one-time winners Rangpur Riders.

Shakib had played for Rangpur Riders in 2015.
Shakib had played for Rangpur Riders in 2015.


Sources have confirmed Shakib’s deal with the Riders. Official announcement is due within Wednesday afternoon.

Also Read - McGrath reveals the best bowler in the world on 'Home soil'

Bangladesh’s Test and T20I captain Shakib was rested for ongoing Sri Lanka series, where the Tigers have already lost the ODI series with a match to go. Rangpur will name their icon for 2019-20 BPL season in his presence in capital city Dhaka.

2015 was the previous occasion when Shakib represented the northern part of the country. He led the side, filled with stars – including Darren Sammy and Thisara Perera, to third position in the play-offs.

The next season he moved to Dhaka Dynamites, where he guided the team to finals in all three editions he stayed with – 2016, 2017 and 2019. The first one turned out to be Dynamites’ first BPL title beating Rajshahi Kings whereas they fell short to Rangpur Riders and Comilla Victorians in the next two.

Superman all-rounder Shakib had represented his local side Khulna Royal Bengals in the inaugural Bangladesh Premier League in 2012. He had gone on to win the trophy for Dhaka Gladiators the next year.

In 292 Twenty20 matches, Shakib has 4763 runs and 346 wickets to his name, making him one of the most valuable all-rounders in the shorter format.

The seventh edition of BPL will kick off from December 6. The opening ceremony is scheduled for the 3rd of December. The final will take place on January 11 in 2020.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.