BPL six to start on January, 2019

The sixth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) will commence from 5th of January, 2019, the news has been confirmed by the BPL Governing Council member and BCB media committee chairman Jalal Yunus on Sunday. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ আগের নিয়মে ফিরে গেল বিপিএল]

On attending the governing council meeting today, Jalal Yunus stated, “We are unable to open this year’s tournament on time on account of nationwide general election. According to the new schedule, the sixth edition of the BPL will take place in between 5th of January to 8th of February.”

Also Read - South Africa regain momentum in the ODI Series with easy win

The most exciting shortest version domestic competition of the country thus would prolong up to thirty four days.

Apart from that, in a statement made by BCB Chairman on April revealed the thought of recruiting lesser number of foreign cricketers in each franchise team.

Nazmul Hasan Papon said, “Every franchise could stick to maximum four cricketers in the team which will either be locals or foreign cricketers. The combination could be a mixture of local and foreigners as well in accordance with wishes of franchise authorities.”

However, no decision has so far been taken on the number of franchise teams to participate in the forthcoming edition of the Bangladesh Premier League.

Related Articles

Ian Pont remarks proud statement about Anamul Haque Bijoy

Archer to get his desired debut against Pakistan

Watch: Tamim scores 22 runs in Andre Russell’s one over

Comilla crowned two-time champions

Tamim smashes record 141* in BPL final