ESPNcricinfo’s BPL team of the tournament

Comilla Victorians crowned champions of the sixth edition of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) after beating Dhaka Dynamites by 17 runs.

Tamim man of the match
The sixth edition of the BPL has been an exciting one where we saw the local stars dominating more than the foreign players. Bangladesh’s big four Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and Mushfiqur Rahim all were in top form throughout the tournament.

Here we take a look at the BPL team of the tournament:

1) Tamim Iqbal – 467 runs | 14 matches (Comilla Victorians)

The dashing opener saved the best for the last. Tamim desperately wanted to win a BPL trophy and he won it for himself single-handedly after playing a monstrous knock of 141* in the final. He was also the second leading-scorer of the tournament, only behind Rilee Rossouw’s 558 runs.

Also Read - Colin Munro dropped from first two Bangladesh ODIs, spin duo returns

2) Sunil Narine – 279 runs | 18 wickets | 15 matches (Dhaka Dynamites)

Sunil Narine was once again an effective player for Dhaka Dynamites this season. He was good with both the bat and the ball. Like the previous season, he batted as an opener and gave crucial starts to Dhaka in some of the matches. He was also exceptional with the ball, having an economy of only 6.35 for the whole tournament.

3) AB de Villiers 247 runs | 6 matches (Rangpur Riders)

The former South Africa captain played only 6 matches for Rangpur, but he produced some magnificent knocks in his debut season. He also scored an unbeaten hundred against Dhaka and Rangpur won all the six matches when de Viliiers played. Due to the absence of him and injured Alex Hales, Rangpur failed to qualify for the final in the end.

4) Yasir Ali – 307 runs | 11 matches (Chittagong Vikings)

Yasir Ali is arguably the biggest find in this season for Bangladesh. He has played some good knocks in the domestic cricket but failed to catch the spotlight till now. But his consistent performance in this season’s BPL has given him the limelight. Yasir looked solid with the bat and a clean-hitter of the ball. He also scored three fifties in this tournament.

5) Rilee Rossouw – 558 runs | 14 matches (Rangpur Riders)

Rilee Rossouw was undoubtedly the best foreign player of the tournament. The run-machine scored 558 runs in just 14 matches including a hundred. He performed consistently throughout the tournament. However, he missed out in the crucial match in the second qualifier where he was departed for a duck.

6) Mushfiqur Rahim – 426 runs | 13 matches (Chittagong Vikings)

The dependable Mushfiqur Rahim was in top form this season. He played some match-winning innings and also led the team well to the play-offs. Despite not having a strong team on paper. Mushfqur and his men upset the top teams and was third in the points table.

7) Shakib Al Hasan – 301 runs | 23 wickets | 15 matches (Dhaka Dynamites)

Top all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan was magnificent both with the bat and the ball in this tournament. He was the leading wicket-taker with 23 wickets and also the 9th leading-scorer with 301 runs. Despite Shakib failed to guide his side to their second BPL title, the all-rounder was named the man of the tournament yet again.

8) Andre Russell – 229 runs | 14 wickets | 15 matches (Dhaka Dynamites)

Windies all-rounder Andre Russel is counted to be a lucky charm for any team in the world. Wherever he players, the team either wins the title or ends up as the runners-up. And Russell contributes well in almost every edition. With 229 runs and 14 wickets, Russell produced yet another all-round brilliance this season.

9) Mashrafe Mortaza – 22 wickets | 14 matches (Rangpur Riders)

Despite having fitness issues, the Narail Express doesn’t fail to surprise with his magnificent bowling. And who would have predict that he would end up as the joint 2nd leading wicket-taker in the tournament. He was only behind Shakib’s 22 wickets.

10) Taskin Ahmed – 22 wickets | 12 matches (Sylhet Sixers)

After fighting with various injuries and poor form, the stage was all set for Taskin Ahmed to prove his worth again. And he didn’t fail to do it as he picked up 22 wickets to become the joint 2nd leading wicket-taker. Taskin’s brilliant performance also earned him a place back into the national side, but yet another injury unfortunately has ruled him out of the New Zealand tour.

11) Rubel Hossain – 22 wickets | 15 matches (Dhaka Dynamites)

Rubel Hossain was also one of the star local player of this season. He also picked up 22 wickets only behind his skipper Shakib. Rubel’s performance in this tournament will be huge boost for Bangladesh for the upcoming New Zealand tour.

Related Articles

Four new team names of BPL 2019 announced

Famous bollywood superstars to perform at BPL 2019 opening ceremony

Bowlers with 140 kmph speed mandatory in upcoming BPL

Shakib’s price in Rangpur Riders revealed!

Wasim Jaffer reveals how he helped Soumya regain his confidence