CA imposes limitations on IPL-bound Aussies

Cricket Australia (CA) has set restrictions on its players while advertising in the upcoming IPL 2021.

I would love to play for RCB: Maxwell

Australian players will not be allowed to promote betting, fast food, alcohol and tobacco brands in the IPL.

Also Read - MCC debates on DRS, bouncers

“A full team photo – for use only by the sponsors of the relevant IPL team in print media in India and any such photo should not involve or include the name or branding of a company primarily engaged in the business of alcohol, fast food/fast food restaurants, tobacco or betting.”

More restrictions say a team cannot have more than one player from a BBL side and/or state team taking part in advertising campaign.

Revealed by, a BCCI mail read, “Cricket Australia has imposed the following restrictions on Franchisees’ use of Australian players in advertising and/or promotional materials: In any specific advertising or promotional activity featuring any Australian player (in any medium including TV, radio, press, outdoor, internet, point of sales or on-pack advertising), each Franchisee may only use: (a) no more than 1 Player who has a Central Contract with Cricket Australia; and/or; (b) no more than 1 Australian Player from the same Australian State; and (c) no more than 1 Australian Player from the same Big Bash team.

“By way of example: A Franchisee may, subject to compliance with the remainder of these Player Regulations, the Player ID guidelines and the Player Contract, use three Australian players in any advertising material as long as no more than one has a Central Contract and all three are from different States and Big Bash teams.”

19 Australians will take part in this year’s IPL with Glenn Maxwell and Jhye Richardson being millionaires.

The 19 Aussies are- Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jhye Richardson, Rilie Meredith, Ben Cutting, Moises Henriques, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Stoinis, Pat Cummins, Chris Lynn, Adam Zampa, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Josh Philippe, Andrew Tye, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh.