Carey replaces Wade in Australia Test squad

Matthew Wade has been dropped from Australia’s Test squad for the tour of South Africa after having a forgettable series against India. Alex Carey has been named in the 19-man contingent for the three-Test series. This is his maiden Test call-up.

Alex Carey gets Test call-up

Apart from Carey, the squad also includes four more uncapped players in Sean Abbott, Michael Neser, Mitchell Swepson and Mark Steketee.

Also Read - Rajeev Shukla posts cryptic tweet after India's series win in Australia

Though Wade has been dropped from the Test squad, he will tour New Zealand as part of Australia T20I squad, captained by Aaron Finch and coached by Andrew McDonald.

The five-match T20I series between New Zealand and Australia will begin from February 22 in Christchurch.

Australia 18-man squad for the New Zealand tour includes uncapped players Tanveer Sangha, a 19-year-old legspinner, wicketkeeper-batsman Josh Philippe and paceman Riley Meredith.

Meanwhile, Tim Paine has received strong support from Cricket Australia (CA) to continue as the Test team captain despite having a lean series against Team India.

“Tim Paine has been an outstanding captain since taking over the Australian men’s Test team in incredibly difficult circumstances.

“Tim has the support of the team, the coach and everyone else at Cricket Australia and the result of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy series has done nothing to diminish that,” said CA’s Execeutive General Manager Ben Oliver.

Australia squads:

Tests: Tim Paine (captain), Pat Cummins (vice-captain), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

T20Is: Aaron Finch (captain), Matthew Wade (vice-captain), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Daniel Sams, Tanveer Sangha, DArcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

Related Articles

Guha explains who can be Paine’s replacement as Australia captain

Finch names three alternative openers to replace Warner

Maxwell-Carey heroics seal series for Australia

No Rohit, Dhoni in Alex Carey’s IND-AUS combined XI

Video: Alex Carey takes a superb diving catch in BBL