'Cheater' Latif still has no regret for claiming Kapali's dropped catch
Former Pakistan captain and wicketkeeper, Rashid Latif, has revealed that he still doesn’t have any regret and doesn’t feel guilty for claiming a catch against Bangladesh batsman Alok Kapali in Multan in 2003 even though he knew he hadn’t taken it cleanly. [Read in Bangla: কাপালির বিতর্কিত ক্যাচ নিয়ে এখনো অনুতপ্ত নন রশিদ লতিফ]
That was a very close game between Bangladesh and Pakistan jn Multan in which the hosts eventually went on to win the Test by a slender one-wicket margin courtesy Inzamam-ul-Haq’s phenomenal heroics with the bat in hand, but Latif, then the captain, was banned for five games by the match referee for that incident.
Latif, after 13 years since the incident, admits there was a cheating from his part, but also claims he did it ‘for his country’. While speaking to ESPNcricinfo, the cricketer who is widely regarded as a ‘cheater’ to the people of Bangladesh, said:
You do everything for your country. I did realise immediately that the ball rolled out of my hand and it touched the ground. I conveyed that to my senior players. I gave an option to recall the batsman but it was decided that we will let him go. I have no regrets. It’s a war and we both were playing cricket and I never surrender, so I had to do what was needed. Call it cheating but I have no regret at all.
In that Test, Bangladesh were in a strong position to pull off a historic win. After scoring 281 in the first innings they bowled Pakistan out for 175. In their second knock Bangladesh wobbled after Kapali’s dismissal on a difficult track. In their second innings, Pakistan rode on an unbeaten 138 from Inzamamul Haq to save the blushes.
It was also alleged that the local Pakistani groundsmen cut the outfield grass the night before the start of the fourth day, a clear violation of the game rules, so that the ball could move faster towards the boundary.
Watch the video of Latif’s cheating:
– Jannatul Naym Pieal, Correspondent, bdcricteam.com