Chopra names India’s 17-member squad for tour of Sri Lanka

Earlier, the Board of Control for Cricket in India President Sourav Ganguly said that India will fly to Sri Lanka to play the limited-overs series. India will lock horns with Sri Lanka in 5 T20Is followed by 3 ODIs. Since the top cricketers like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah will be busy with England assignments they will not be available for the series against the Lankans.

Chopra names India's 17-member squad for tour of Sri Lanka

However, India already have talented cricketers in their ranks. Meanwhile, former Indian cricketer Aakash Chopra named Team India’s 17-member squad that will tour Sri Lanka for a limited-overs series scheduled to be held in July.

Also Read - Sodhi suggests Hardik Pandya as India captain against Sri Lanka

According to the former Indian Test opener, senior cricketer Shikhar Dhawan should be the captain of the Indian side. Chopra added that Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw should open the batting for India. This opening combination worked wonders at Delhi Capitals in IPL 2021.

The former KKR player picked Shreyas Iyer in the team and added that the right-handed batsman should feature in the team if he is fit to play. The cricketer turned commentator picked Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan at No.4 and No.5 respectively.

“Shikhar Dhawan the captain because we have seen in the last two years that he is upgrading his software and batting with great responsibility. Along with him, I am picking Prithvi Shaw. The form we have seen from him, I feel he should be the front-runner in this race.

After that Shreyas Iyer if he is available. There is a talk of him playing county cricket but it would be better if you keep him for the six encounters here. Then Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, although Mumbai Indians dropped him halfway through,” said Chopra on his YouTube Channel.

Chopra named Hardik Pandya as the vice-captain of the Indian team. Veteran spinner Yuzvendra Chahal found his place in the squad where the fast bowling duo Deepak Chahar and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been picked by Chopra and the latter added that the duo should bowl in the powerplay.

“Hardik Pandya will be my vice-captain. And then Krunal Pandya. He played the last ODI series against England and performed well also. After that Yuzi Chahal. Deepak Chahar whose performances have been outstanding with the white-ball.

He should be given a chance in ODIs as well. If Bhuvi and he bowl together, our powerplay problem of not taking wickets can also be sorted out,” said Chopra.

After that, the 43-year-old picked RCB pacer Navdeep Saini and SRH left-arm seamer Thangarasu Natarajan. The commentator also reckons that Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy will serve as the two extra spinners. Chopra also reserved a place for right-arm pacer Prasidh Krishna as well.

“After that Navdeep Saini, he has also been kept in cold storage. Neither India is playing him nor RCB. But I will keep him in my team because he was part of the team when India went to Australia and played a Test match also.

There is a question mark about T Natarajan’s injury. But if he is fit, he will go of course. Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy are the two extra spinners I have kept. I have also given place to Prasidh Krishna in my team,” said Chopra.

Chopra also revealed the reason behind picking Sanju Samson and Deepak Hooda. The commentator cited that Samson scored an impressive century against Punjab Kings in the IPL. He also added that Deepak Hooda is a dangerous batsman.

“Sanju Samson and Deepak Hooda, I will keep both these players. Sanju Samson has been playing good cricket, scored a century this year as well. Deepak Hooda has shown that he can be an explosive batsman at No.6 or No.7 and he can bowl a bit of off-spin,” concluded Aakash Chopra.

Aakash Chopra’s Indian squad for India’s tour of Sri Lanka: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Navdeep Saini, T Natarajan, Rahul Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy, Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, Prasidh Krishna.

Related Articles

Chopra highlights the turning phase in Jadeja’s career

Aakash Chopra picks Team India’s playing XI for ICC WTC Final

“We all make mistakes” – Chopra on Robinson’s suspension from all international cricket

Imagine Root earning more than Kohli for playing for their country: Chopra

He has been a revelation: Chopra heaps praise on Indian youngster