Christian called in for West Indies, Bangladesh tours

Australia have added six players to their preliminary squad for tours of West Indies and Bangladesh.

Christian called in for West Indies, Bangladesh tours

38-year-old T20 veteran Dan Christian has earned a call-up to the side. He last played for Australia in 2017.

Also Read - TikTok signs partnership deal with PSL

Ben McDermott, Cameron Green, Ashton Turner, Wes Agar and Nathan Ellis have also been added to the preliminary squad which stands at 29. Christian (Nottinghamshire) and McDermott (Derbyshire) will be unavailable to play in this year’s T20 Blast.

Marnus Labuschagne, who was not picked when the 23-man squad was named, has been left overlooked again.

Several Australia players are expected to be withdrawing from the upcoming tours as bio-bubble has taken its toll. The likes of Pat Cummins and David Warner are reported to be pulling out of IPL’s UAE leg in September-October.

“The six additions to the Australian men’s squad follow discussions with players selected in the initial preliminary list for the tours of the West Indies and Bangladesh,” Cricket Australia selector Trevor Hohns said.

“During the course of those discussions, it has become clear that recent experiences abroad, including but not limited to extended periods in bio-secure hubs and hard quarantine, have had an impact on the health and wellbeing of some players and their families.

“CA has maintained that the wellbeing of players, staff and officials is a top priority, and never moreso than during the Covid-19 pandemic given the extraordinary challenges it has placed upon international athletes and sporting teams.”

Australia will play five T20Is and three Super League ODIs against West Indies in July before heading to Bangladesh for another five T20Is in August to notch up T20 World Cup preparation.

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (capain), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Tanveer Sangha, D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Related Articles

Smith moves up to No.1 again

WTC winners to receive $1.6M, Test Mace

“I think he’ll be a great captain” – Paine backs Labuschagne to lead Australia

Cricket Australia sets three conditions to BCB

Despite all the controversies, Chappell taught Team India how to win: Raina