CPL 2018 to kick-off on 8th August

The sixth edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) will be held from August 8 to September 16. There are no international fixtures scheduled for Windies during the aforementioned window, which is intended to keep all the national star attractions available for the tournament.

Trinbago Knight Riders is the current champions of the CPL. Spinner Mehidy Hasan Miraj was also in the squad of Trinbago in the last edition, but didn’t get chance to play in any match.

Mahmudullah Riyad also played in the last edition of CPL and featured for the Jamaica Tallawahs. Among Bangladeshis, Shakib Al Hasan played the most in CPL. He played for Barbados Tridents and Jamaica Tallawahs while Tamim Iqbal played for St Lucia Zouks.

Also Read - Mominul's innings was special: Herath

As in the previous three seasons, there are six franchises that will compete in this year’s tournament. The opening round of matches will take place in Trinidad and Tobago as well as Guyana.

CEO of Cricket West Indies said: “The CPL is now the start of our domestic season and we are delighted that we have found a window when all of the best cricketers from the Caribbean will be available to take part. We are sure that 2018 will be the biggest season yet.

CPL originated in 2013, and in the five seasons since then, Jamaica Tallawahs and Trinbago Knight Riders are its most successful franchises – both winning the trophy twice.

Related Articles

Shakib gets team in CPL

Guyana knocked out Jamaica to secure Qualifier berth

Live: Jamaica put a decent total in the Eliminator of CPL

Live: Mahmudullah’s Jamaica batting first against St Kitts

Shakib proud to represent Bangladesh in foreign leagues