Dauntless Bangladesh eyeing another series win

Bangladesh and Windies are all set to feature in the three match one day international series starting from December 9 (Sunday).

Tamim's comeback puts Bangladesh in a sweet mess

The first match of the series will start at 1.00 pm at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

Whatever the execution of batting Windies batsmen showed in the Test series, the limited over competition might come with a whole different scenario, some glimpse of which has been exhibited in the only preparation match ahead of the series; although the hosts came to win the match, Windies crossed three hundred run marks at ease.

Also Read - Ponting slams Adelaide crowd for booing at Kohli

Saying about the batting, Bangladesh are lucky to receive the major boost having Tamim Iqbal back in the track with hammering a splendid hundred in the one off preparation match blowing the opposition off.

Still the confusion is there about who to open the innings with Tamim as both Soumya Sarkar and Imrul Kayes have runs under their belts. Sarkar fired with the ton in the preparation match while Kayes piled 349 runs just in the previous ODI series against Zimbabwe.

But it is highly likely that the team management would likely to continue the upsurge of placing Soumya Sarkar in one down.

Windies captain Rovman Powell said the team is highly upbeat to win the series as it has been long since Windies won a limited over series.

Talking to the press Powell said, “We haven’t won an ODI series in a long time. The guys are upbeat and raring to go. No better opportunity to change it in Bangladesh. We have played some lovely cricket in India but we didn’t get the results that we wanted. A few series before the World Cup, it will be good to get the series win under our belt. It will give us confidence going into the World Cup also.”

Any win will definitely boost Windies’ confidence level prior to the World Cup.

Probable playing XI-

Bangladesh Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan,  Mashrafe Mortaza (c),  Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman,

Windies: Roston Chase, Devendra Bishoo, Shimron Hetmyer, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Shai Hope, Rovman Powell (c), Carlos Brathwaite, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach,, Oshane Thomas.

Related Articles

Shakib back in runs, Tamim-Shanto fire

Three uncapped in Bangladesh’s ODI squad

BCB to dedicate all 2021 series to Bangabandhu

Roach focuses on good planning to beat Bangladesh

Akash DTH returns as Bangladesh kits partner