De Kock bags top three CSA awards

South Africa limited overs captain Quinton de Kock has been named South Africa’s Cricketer of the Year. The wicketkeeper-batsman has won two more awards at Cricket South Africa’s annual awards ceremony, Test Cricketer of the Year and men’s players’ player of the year.

De Kock bags top three CSA awards

Laura Wolvaardt has been named the best player of the year in women’s cricket. The 21-year-old batsman has also received a total of three recognitions. He is the best cricketer in women’s ODIs and also women’s player’s player of the year.

Also Read - Kohli and Ishant trolls Mayank Agarwal on 'Upside- down' training video

Due to the coronavirus situation, this year’s award ceremony was virtual. The recognition of the best of the 2019-20 season was given on Saturday night.

Last season was a huge disappointment for South Africa as a team. They were utterly unsuccessful in the World Cup. Later in the Test series, they lost against India, against England on home soil. Only one had won among four ODI series at home. De Kock was brilliant even in this time of despair. He was the team’s highest run-scorer in Tests and T20s, second in ODIs.

This is the second time De Cock has been named Cricketer of the Year. Previously he received the award in 2017. Jacques Kallis, Makhaya Ntini, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers and Kagiso Rabada have been named the best player of the year more than once before.

The night will also be memorable for Lungi Ngidi. The fast bowler has won the ODI and T20 Cricketer of the Year titles. Fast bowler Anrich Nortje has been nominated as the Newcomer of the Year. David Miller has been chosen as fans’ favourite player.

Fast bowler Shabnim Ismail has been named T20 Cricketer of the Year in women’s cricket.

Related Articles

IPL 2020: Delhi beat Bangalore, both team qualify for playoffs

Watch: Nortje dismisses Buttler with a 154.8 kph delivery

I’m lucky to have KG and Nortje in the team: Shreyas Iyer

IPL 2020: Delhi announce Woakes’ replacement

Only Imran Tahir from South Africa to take part in CPL