De Kock, Ngidi dominate CSA awards nominees list

South Africa’s limited-overs captain Quinton de Kock and pacer Lungi Ngidi have been nominated for most of the categories in Men’s section for the 2019/20 Cricket South Africa (CSA) Awards. Besides, in women’s section all-rounder Marizanne Kapp and batsman Laura Wolvaardt have both been selected for four categories.

De Kock, Ngidi dominate CSA awards nominees list

Every year CSA arranges ceremony to honor the top players of the country who performs well in last one year. This year the prize giving ceremony will be in virtual because of the restrictions for the coronavirus pandemic. The ceremony will be held on July 4.

Also Read - No Dhoni in Duminy's nine overseas players' all-time IPL XI

Quinton De Kock and Ngidi have both been nominated in the following three categories: SA Men’s Cricketer of the Year, ODI Cricketer of the Year and T20 Cricketer of the Year respectively. Besides, De Kock has been nominated Test Cricketer of the Year along with Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje as well as for the SA Men’s Players’ Players award category.

Other Proteas men’s players nominated in the various categories are Temba Bavuma (T20 Cricketer of the Year), Heinrich Klaasen (ODI Cricketer of the Year), David Miller (SA Men’s Players’ Player of the Year) and Vernon Philander (Delivery of the Year).

“It is my great pleasure and privilege to congratulate all the nominees as we celebrate the achievements of both our Proteas men’s and women’s squads,” commented CSA’s acting CEO Jacques Faul.

The CSA Awards Judging Panel consists of: Jeremy Fredericks (Convener), Crystal Arnold, Makhaya Ntini, Clinton du Preez, Lungani Zama and Natalie Germanos with statistical input by Andrew Samson.

Related Articles

IPL 2020: Delhi beat Bangalore, both team qualify for playoffs

Watch: Nortje dismisses Buttler with a 154.8 kph delivery

I’m lucky to have KG and Nortje in the team: Shreyas Iyer

IPL 2020: Delhi announce Woakes’ replacement

Only Imran Tahir from South Africa to take part in CPL