Dhaka seize big win

Dhaka seize big win Defending champion Dhaka Dynamites thrashed Rajshahi Kings by a big margin of 68 runs in the 19th match of the Bangladesh Premier League at the Sher – e – Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

The match was, however, captured by Dhaka Dynamites’ batsmen in the first innings, scoring over 201 runs.

Rajshahi Kings could not reach in near of the formidable target, bundled out scoring 133 runs in 18.2 overs, falling short of 68 runs.

Also Read - Live: Rajshahi to bowl against Dhaka

Pakistan former all-rounder Shahid Khan Afridi’s sharp spinning proved fatal for the Kings, guiding Dhaka Dynamites to another easy win in this season. Afridi captured 4 wickets in his 4 overs quota of bowling giving away 26 runs.

BPL wonder boy Abu Hider Rony also damaged the opposition batting line up taking 3 wickets bowling just 2.2 overs where he conceded 11 runs.

Rajshahi Kings’ batsmen could score a little in the midst of bowling storm of Afridi and Rony. Zakir Hasan who starred in Rajshahi Kings’ previous win, scored highest in this match. He scored 36 runs off 23 deliveries.

19 is the second highest score in the Kings’ innings did by West Indian hard hitter Darren Sammy. He along with Mehedi Hasan Miraz put some resistance at the end but it was never been enough for the team.

World number one all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan accompanied Afridi and Rony in the bowling. He claimed 2 wickets conceding 22 runs in 4 overs.

In the first segment of the match, a pair of half centuries by Evin Lewis and Kieron Pollard dragged Dhaka Dynamites piling up a huge total on the board.

Opening batsman Evin Lewis smashed highest 64 runs in the innings. Shahid Afridi and Evin Lewis partnered for 53 run in first wicket.

Afridi’s 8 ball 15 was ended by Mehedi Hasan Miraz’s straight ball in the fifth over; the young all-rounder opted for a double strike picking up Jahurul Islam in the next over.

Dhaka Dynamites’ innings was taken into the height by Kieron Pollard. The Caribbean big hitter launched a slaughtering attack at the closing phase of the innings. With a strike rate of 208, Pollard hit the ball out of the park eight times in his innings, 5 for boundaries and 3 for over boundaries.

He ended making an unbeaten 25 ball 52. Kumar Sangakkara also contributed 28 runs off 22 balls.

Brief Score:

Dhaka Dynamites 201/7 (20 overs)

Evin Lewis 64, Kieron Pollard 52, Kumar Sangakkara 28

Hossain Ali 3/38, Mehedi Hasan 2/31, Samit Patel 1/18

Rajshahi Kings 133/10 (20 overs)

Zakir Hasan 36, Darren Sammy 19, Mominul Haque 16

Shahid Afridi 4/26, Abu Hider Rony 3/11, Shakib Al Hasan 2/22

Result: Dhaka Dynamites won by 68 runs.

Toss: Rajshahi Kings 

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018