Dickwella punished by ICC for cheeky tactic
Sri Lanka wicketkeeper Niroshan Dickwella has been sanctioned by the International Cricket Council as he found guilty of breaching the code of conduct during Zimbabwe’s historic run chase after a cunning attempt at a stumping.
Match referee Chris Broad found Dickwella guilty of violating Article 2.1.1 of the ICC Code of Conduct – relating to conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game – and he was subsequently fined 30 per cent of his match fee, as well as receiving two demerit points to put him on the brink of suspension.
The umpires laid the charge after the match and Dickwella accepted Broad’s proposed sanctions, meaning a formal hearing was not required.
“Dickwella admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by match referee Chris Broad and, as such, there was no need for a formal hearing,” an ICC release said.
In case you didn’t know, the Sri Lankan wicket-keeper earlier this year, was handed a two-match ban during the Twenty20 tour of Australia when he was found guilty of dissent following his controversial dismissal in the Geelong encounter.
– Nazmus Sajid Chowdhury, Contributor, bdcrictime.com