Dilshan omits Sangakkara in his all-time ODI XI

Former Sri Lanka opener Tillakaratne Dilshan reveals his list of best XI of the 50-over format in the history of the game in a chat with ESPNcricinfo recently.

Dilshan omits Sangakkara in his all-time ODI XI

Dilshan picks one of the two great openers in ODI format, Sri Lankan Sanath Jayasuriya and Indian Sachin Tendulkar for the opening slot. Jayasuriya has 13,430 runs and 323 wickets next to his name whereas Tendulkar is still the highest run-getter in ODI with 18,426 runs.

Also Read - 'Australia used to hold their ears upon hearing Harbhajan Singh’s name'

For the number 3 positions, Dilshan chooses another legend West Indian Brian Lara, who has also over 10,000 runs in ODIs in his career. Former Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene is next in line at no. 4, justifying the place with more than 12,000 runs next to his name.

Dilshan selects Australian great Ricky Ponting for the next position and also makes the captain of the team. Under Ponting, Australia won two World Cups in 2003 and 2007 and undoubtedly Ponting is one of the best captain the game has ever produced. He has also scored 13,704 runs in ODIs and the third highest run-getter in the history of ODIs.

For all-rounder spot, Dilshan makes an obvious choice which is South Africa all-rounder Jacques Kallis. Other than Jayasuriya, only Kallis has more than 10,000 runs and 250 wickets in ODIs. AB de Villiers makes the team as wicket-keeper batsman as Dilshan omits one of the finest players in ODI, his former teammate, Kumar Sangakkara. Sangakkara is the second highest run-getter in ODI history. He’s first batsman in World Cup history to score 4 consecutive hundreds in 2015.

For the bowling slot, Dilshan picks one of the greatest four bowlers of all time- Shane Warne, Muttiah Muralitharan, Wasim Akram and Courtney Walsh.

Tillakaratne Dilshan’s all-time ODI XI:

Sanath Jayasuriya, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Mahela Jayawardene, Ricky Ponting (c), Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers (wk), Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Muttiah Muralitharan and Courtney Walsh.

Related Articles

“one record that will be Jimmy’s and Jimmy’s alone” : Sangakkara

Paintings of prominent Sri Lankan cricketers on police station wall

Sangakkara names two toughest bowlers he faced

Ganguly right man for the post of ICC chairman: Sangakkara

Anil kumble names the toughest batsman he bowled to