Dinesh Karthik picks his all-time IPL XI

Dinesh Karthik has tremendous experience of playing in the Indian Premier League. The veteran wicket-keeper batsman has played 196 games in the format wherein he scored 3823 runs at an average of 26 and a strike rate of around 130.

Dinesh Karthik picks his all-time IPL XI

The right-handed batsman smashed as many as 19 fifties. He registered his best score of 97* of 50 balls against Rajasthan Royals in the 2019 season of the IPL. The 35-year-old wicketkeeper was last seen playing for India in the 2019 World Cup semi-final against New Zealand.

Also Read - Mahmudullah wants to forget NZ tour humiliation

Since then, he was overlooked by the visitors. He has taken 118 catches in the league and has affected 13 run outs and 30 stumpings his name. The former KKR captain didn’t play well in the last season.

He managed to score just 169 runs in 14 games including 1 fifty, which is pretty much low considering a player of his calibre. Meanwhile, the wicketkeeper-batsman has named his all-time IPL XI.

IPL has witnessed plenty of stars coming through the ranks at the highest level. Only the ones who played a fearless brand of cricket on a consistent basis managed to make a name for themselves in the league.

The former KKR skipper named former Indian opening pair Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir as the openers in his all-time IPL XI. He picked RCB captain Virat Kohli and MI captain Rohit Sharma at No.3 and No.4 respectively.

After that, he picked West Indies’ all-rounder Andre Russell. Karthik picked one more Caribbean who is Sunil Narine. Karthik picked three pacers in his all-time IPL XI which comprises Glenn McGrath, Jasprit Bumrah and Mitchell Starc. Yuzvendra Chahal managed to find his place in Karthik’s all-time XI.

Karthik’s all-time IPL XI

Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Glenn McGrath, Jasprit Bumrah, Mitchell Starc, Yuzvendra Chahal

Meanwhile, KKR retained the services of Dinesh Karthik for the next season.

Retained players list:

Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Nitish Rana, Prasidh Krishna, Rinku Singh, Sandeep Warrier, Shivam Mavi, Shubman Gill, Sunil Narine, Pat Cummins, Rahul Tripathi, Varun Chakravarthy, Ali Khan, Tim Seifert.

Released players list:

Nikhil Naik, Siddhesh Lad, M Siddharth, Tom Banton, Chris Green, Harry Gurney.

Related Articles

Sehwag thinks Russell and Karthik had ‘lack of positive intent’ against MI

Dinesh Karthik uses himself in a meme to express his delight for the IPL

Shakib takes India flight to play IPL

Dinesh Karthik heaps praise on Ishan Kishan

India vs England: Dinesh Karthik set to don commentator’s hat for limited-overs series