Dynamites set in final of BPL 2017

Dynamites set in final of BPL 2017

Defending champion Dhaka Dynamites have confirmed their ticket to the final of the fifth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) with an enormous win of 95 runs against Comilla Victorians at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Friday night.

After throwing a massive 191 runs on the board after batting first, Dhaka Dynamites bowling line up ripped through the batting line up of Comilla Victorians, wrapped them up for a below par score of 96 runs in their innings.

Also Read - Hathurusingha appointed new SL head coach

The destruction once again done by Dhaka Dynamites’ spin trio Shahid Afridi, Shakib Al Hasan and Mosaddek Hossain. 7 wickets have been shared among them, ensuring an easy win for the Dynamites.

Afridi and Shakib enriched their tally of wickets in this season; the veteran Pakistani all-rounder bagged 3 more while Shakib Al Hasan and Mosaddek Hossain captured 2 wickets each.

Comilla Victorians’ icon and skipper Tamim Iqbal Khan threw his best effort, making the highest 31 runs in the innings besides drastic failure of procuring support from the other end of the wicket.

Eight out of ten batsmen of the Victorians’ innings lost their wickets before entering into the double digit mark, four of them got out even before scoring.

Comilla’s eighth wicket down at the score of 71 runs. Pacer Hasan Ali and Mahedi Hasan added 18 and 15 runs respectively in the end to take the score near hundred.

Dhaka Dynamites, after choosing to bat first, were powered by Evin Lewis, Joe Denly and Kieron Pollard along with Shahid Afridi in the end.

Watch the highlights of the match here-

After losing Mehedi Maruf in the second over, in form Lewis, well accompanied by Kieron Pollard and later Joe Denly took the score to 138 in the mid of the innings.

On contrary to Hasan Ali’s incredible triumph with the ball, the other bowlers of Comilla Victorians were rather expensive. Ali added another 3 wickets in his list conceding just 16 runs in 4 overs.

Comilla Victorians is now set to face Rangpur Riders in the second qualifier of the tournament. Rangpur Riders, empowered by a mighty Gayle knock swept away Khulna Titans in the first match of the day.

Brief Score:

Dhaka Dynamites 191/7 (20 overs)

Evin Lewis 47, Joe Denly 32, Kieron Pollard 31

Hasan Ali 3/16, Dwayne Bravo 2/45, Shoaib Malik 1/28

Comilla Victorians 96 all out

Tamim Iqbal 31, Hasan Ali 18, Mahedi Hasan 15

Shahid Afridi 3/16, Shakib Al Hasan 2/19, Mosaddek Hossain 2/24

Result: Dhaka Dynamites won by 95 runs.

Toss: Dhaka Dynamites. 

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018