Eight Bangladeshis interested for IPL 2018

Eight Bangladeshi cricketers have shown their interest to play in VIVO Indian Premier League T20 2018. Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has yesterday (January 2) sent these eight players’ names to BCCI. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ আইপিএলের নিলামে ৮ বাংলাদেশি]

Eight Bangladeshis interested for IPL 2018

IPL, the world’s most popular T20 league is set for the eleventh edition. Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan had been with Kolkata Knight Riders from 2011. Cutter master Mustafizur Rahman played for Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2016 and 2017. Both Bangladeshis are released by the teams for the mega auction.

Also Read - Munro, bowlers lift NZ to series win, no.1 in rankings

Six more Bangladeshi cricketers’ names have been submitted. Those six are: Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Sabbir Rahman, Liton Kumar Das and Abul Hasan Raju.

Of them, only Tamim was picked by an IPL team. He was picked by Pune Warriors India in 2012 and 2013 but didn’t play any game. Mahmudullah Riyad has the experience of playing in T20 leagues like PSL (Pakistan Super League) and CPL (Caribbean Premier League).

This year’s IPL auction will be held for two days (January 27 and 28) in Bengaluru. A team can retain maximum of five players. Three of them can be retained before the auction. RTM (Right-to-Match) cards give the chance for teams to get back a player at the same price he is bought by another team. Highest three players can be retained through RTM cards.

There is another restriction of player retention. A maximum of three capped Indian players, two overseas players and two uncapped Indian players can be retained.

The eleventh edition of IPL will begin on April 4. Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings will replace Rising Pune Supergiant and Gujarat Lions after two-year ban.


-Ruffin, Correspondent,

Related Articles

Abul Hasan replaces Fizz for Afghan T20Is

BCB announces 32-man preliminary squad

Photo Album: Dhaka Dynamites vs Sylhet Sixers, Math-10

Sylhet sign Raju, Malan and Jordan

Haider, Liton lead HP to achieve yet another comfortable victory