Eight cities to host WT20 2020

Eight cities of Australia will host women’s at first, and then men’s World T20 in 2020. This will be the first team men’s and women’s World T20 tournaments will be held during separate time in one country in the same year.

Eight cities to host WT20 2020

Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney are the cities that will host the World T20. 13 venues will host the mega event. Finals will be held at Melbourne Cricket Ground. Women’s semi-finals will be played at Sydney Cricket Ground. Adelaide Oval alongside SCG will host men’s semi-finals.

Also Read - Star cricketers to face financial loses under team sponsorship contract

Women’s World T20 will kick off from February 21. The Final will be played on International Women’s Day, March 8. Men’s event will take place from October 18 to November 15, 2020. Women’s team will include 10 teams while 16 teams will play in the men’s tournament.

David Peever, Chairman of Cricket Australia and the ICC World T20 2020 Local Organising Committee said, “Australia is extremely privileged to be hosting the ICC World T20 tournaments in 2020.

“On behalf of Cricket Australia and the Local Organising Committee, I would like to sincerely thank Government at both Federal and State and Territory level, host cities, venues and State and Territory Cricket Associations for their exceptional support, which is so critical for delivering the best possible events in 2020.

“ICC World T20 2020 provides a unique opportunity to engage the whole community and inspire the next generation to love cricket.”

ICC CEO Dave Richardson said, “I’d like to thank Cricket Australia and their partners in Government at all levels for their commitment to the ICC World T20 in 2020. The ambition they have shown firstly in delivering stand-alone men’s and women’s events and then in the venue selection that will, I hope set a record for the biggest ever attendance at a women’s sporting event, is exciting for the sport.

“Australia has a proven track record of delivering world-class events in world-class stadiums and we know we can rely on the fans to provide great support for all of the competing teams.”

West Indies are the winners of both men’s and women’s events that held in India in 2016. There will be another women’s World T20 in West Indies this year but men’s event will resume in 2020.


-Ruffin, Correspondent, bdcrictime.com