England name strong T20I squad against India

England have named 16 members for five-match T20I series against India that is scheduled to start after the Tests.

England name strong T20I squad against India

Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali – all have been named in the T20Is. These five players are currently in England’s Test squad. Matt Parkinson and Jake Ball are named as reserves.

Also Read - Shakib granted paternity leave for NZ tour

Eoin Morgan-led T20I squad will depart for India on February 26.

Big Bash League preformers Alex Hales, the top-scorer and also sole centurion, and James Vince have been overlooked.

“We’re always looking at ways to consider getting players who aren’t currently in the active squad to come along to training days, perhaps in the run-up to a series,” Ed Smith, the ECB selector, said.

“It’s an opportunity to keep growing and expanding that group of players, and keep building those relationships with players who are just outside the actual squad, but that we know are good cricketers. It’s something we might consider in the English summer.”

All five matches will be played at Ahmedabad’s new-look Motera Stadium, commencing on March 12.

The current four-match Test series will end on March 8. After the T20Is, three ODIs will be played as part of World Cup Super League.

England T20I squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, Mark Wood

Reserves: Jake Ball, Matt Parkinson

India vs England T20I fixtures-

March 12: 1st T20I, Ahmedabad
March 14: 2nd T20I, Ahmedabad
March 16: 3rd T20I, Ahmedabad
March 18: 4th T20I, Ahmedabad
March 20: 5th T20I, Ahmedabad

Related Articles

England may ‘rest and rotate’ players in Ashes

India seal WTC final berth with an innings victory

Pant hits stunning ton, India on the lead

Stokes pleased with ‘much better pitch than the previous one’

Spinners keep India in front on day one