England name unchanged squad despite batting failure

England have announced an unchanged squad for the third Test against Australia, which begins on August 22.

England announce squad for first tEST

There is not too many days gap for the third Test to begin and the England Cricket Board (ECB) have already announced that they will go with an unchanged squad.

Also Read - Saini to stay back as cover for West Indies Tests

This comes in as a lifeline for Jason Roy and Joe Denly, who failed miserably in the Test series so far. England will still not get James Anderson as he is still injured. He is still making progress from the injured right calf he aggravated on the opening morning of the first Test. Roy has scores of 10, 28, 0 and 2 in the series so far.

Meanwhile, for Australia, Steve Smith is still in doubt for the third Test after getting a blow on his neck courtesy of a deadly bouncer by Jofra Archer.

No matter if Smith will be available or not, Labuschagne is likely to get a place in the starting XI after playing a match-saving innings, coming in as Smith’s substitute.

England squad: Joe Root (c), Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Jack Leach, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Australia to host Indoor Cricket World Cup 2020 in Melbourne

England take No.3 spot in ICC Test Championship points table

Complete schedule for India’s tour of New Zealand 2020

Finch names the greatest ODI player of all time

Vaughan picks best batsman across formats