England vs Bangladesh: Who will return to winning mode in Cardiff?

In the 12th match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, Bangladesh and England will lock horn at the Sophia Gardens in Cardiff on June 8. The match is scheduled to start at 10.30 AM local time.

New Zealand eclipse Bangladesh in tough battle
Shakib scores highest 64 in the previous match

It would be the third match of the tournament for England and Bangladesh as well with the teams standing in equal scale of positions.

Both of them suffered narrow defeats in their respective previous matches; Bangladesh were taunted by a 15-run defeat against New Zealand while England suffered a 14-run loss contesting against Pakistan. The Saturday’s match will be crucial to stretch the stride in the point table for them.

Also Read - Zampa reprimanded for breaching ICC's code of conduct

The tournament favorites and hosts, England bowlers conceded 348 runs against Pakistan, roughened by sloppy mistakes in fielding.

England v South Africa - ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Bangladesh were enriched with some excellent display from the bowling side; defending an uncompetitive total, Bangladesh bowlers bounced back proficiently into the contest ripping through the Kiwi batting line up.

A missed opportunity of running out Ross Taylor early might cost them the match at the end.

Bangladesh have had happy moments in Cardiff. They beat Australia in the same venue back in 2005 and won against New Zealand during the ICC Champions Trophy in 2017.

But Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza admitted it would be a tough task to beat the hosts this time around.

“I think they (England) are one of the biggest side in this tournament. It’s not going to be easy, we knew that,” said Mashrafe.

“But again, if we can play our best possible cricket, you never know.”

England, on the other hand, showcased valiant batting especially on the part of Joe Root and Jos Buttler who hammered respective centuries in the previous match despite not getting support from rest of the line-up.

Probable XI:
Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Mithun/Rubel Hossain, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mashrafe bin Mortaza and Mustafizur Rahman.

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Eoin Morgan, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Jofra Archer and Liam Plunkett.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

No deal between Pakistan and Bangladesh: Wasim

Inzamam, Latif not happy with Lahore pitch

Malik guides Pakistan in low-scoring affair

Live: Bangladesh opt to bat first

Fawad sends inspiring message to Pakistan ahead of Bangladesh T20I