‘Euro T20 Slam’ – Europe’s own version of Twenty20 league in the horizon

The official name of the recently announced European T20 competition, starting August 2019, has been named as the ‘Euro T20 Slam’.

'Euro T20 Slam' - the new European Twenty20 league confirmed

The competition will take place from 30th August to 22nd September 2019 this year and will be played across Ireland, Scotland and the Netherlands.

Also Read - CSK coach names MS Dhoni's ideal batting position in IPL

Similar to other contemporary T20 leagues around the globe, the Euro T20 Slam will feature city based franchise teams. Six franchise teams will participate in the competition with two from each country.

The name was unveiled after an agreement between event managers, Woods Entertainment and GS Holding, and the three participating cricket boards – Cricket Ireland, Cricket Scotland and KNCB.

Mr. Prashant Mishra, Managing Partner, Woods Entertainment, said:

“After consultation with the cricket boards of Ireland, Scotland and Netherlands, we come to a general consensus over the name. Since the term league is used all across the world for T20 events, we wanted to add the energy factor to our tournament, hence we have decided to name it Euro T20 Slam.”

Mr. Warren Deutrom, Chief Executive of Cricket Ireland, said,

“The process wasn’t just about establishing a mere name, but rather giving the tournament an identity which both aligned it with other global domestic leagues, yet made it a distinctive and a vibrant brand.”

“It was important to us to convey our points of difference that would resonate in local markets – in Ireland, Scotland and Netherlands – where cricket is not the dominant sport in town. The touch points of geography, cricket and excitement was our goal, and we hope it will gain the necessary traction with fans.”

The tournament will involve 33 matches across all three countries, featuring a Group Stage followed by semi-finals and a final.

As per the tournament rule, each franchise must feature a minimum of nine domestic players, and up to a maximum of seven overseas players in their squads.

Further details about the Euro T20 Slam will be released in coming weeks, with an official launching ceremony to be done in April 2019.

Related Articles

Ireland receive €1.5 million COVID-19 relief from government funds

Trouble with salaries of cricketers in six T20 leagues including BPL

Euro T20 Slam postponed until 2020

Steyn joins Euro T20 Slam

Shahid Afridi named as icon player for the upcoming Euro T20 slam