Expectations are high- BCB Chief about Bangladesh Women’s team

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced Bangladesh squad for the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup on Wednesday. The 15-member team has 6 additional members.

Expectations are high- BCB Chief about Bangladesh Women's team

In the meantime, the Tigris had already completed photo-session at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Mirpur on Thursday before departing for Australia. BCB chief Nazmul Hassan Papon was also present with the women’s team.

Also Read - Wilkins showers praise on BD U19s, backs to beat NZ

Bangladesh had played in three World Cups. They are going to play for the fourth time in this year’s World Cup. BCB chief himself had been expected more this time, although the results had not been as expected previously.

The reason for this was the champion in Asia Cup by beating India, the gold medal win in the Asian Games and the recent quadrangular tournament trophy win in India.

“Expectations are always high. Bangladesh team is going to be the representative of the country, so there is hope. I think they are going to play World Cup- that’s the first thing and it’s a matter of pride for us. The performance that our women’s team has shown so far is not very good, but not bad. They are the champion of Asia. From that point on we are definitely in good shape,”

he said.

“There is confidence in them. That’s a lot. And in the moment before the World Cup, the series they played in India will get some morale. Because the Indian national cricketers were played there. So I think it will increase the confidence of our players,” added BCB chief.

World Cup will begin on February 22. Bangladesh’s World Cup mission will begin on February 24 against India. They will play two warm-up matches before that. Bangladesh’s opponent in the warm-up match is Thailand on February 16 and Pakistan on February 20.

Bangladesh squad for T20 World Cup:

Salma Khatun (c), Rumana Ahmed (vc), Jahanara Alam, Shamima Sultana, Murshida Khatun Happy, Ayesha Rahman, Nigar Sultana Joyti, Sanjada Islam, Kadiza-tul-Kubra, Panna Ghosh, Farjana Haque Pinki, Nahida Akhter, Fahima Khatun, Ritu Moni and Sobhana Mostary.

Standby: Shaila Sharmin, Suraiya Azmin, Lata Mondal, Puja Chakraborty and Rabeya.

Related Articles

Papon shows dissatisfaction over Bangladesh’s spin dependence

I wanted Riyad but they took Soumya: BCB president

A great platform to do something for cricket: Razzak

BCB searching Vettori’s replacement

BCB president expresses satisfaction over Shakib, Tamim, Miraz