Score

Fakhar Zaman blames himself for controversial run-out

Pakistan opener Fakhar Zaman has taken the blame on himself contentious run-out during the second ODI against South Africa on Sunday (April 4).

Fakhar Zaman blames himself for controversial run-out

According to Zaman, he didn’t think that it was Quinton de Kock’s fault. Zaman said that it was “his own fault” for not looking at the fielder.

Also Read - Shreyas Iyer to get full IPL 2021 salary despite missing the entire season

Zaman was the lone wolf during their run-chase of 342 runs against the Proteas in Johannesburg. With his team tottering at 120 for five in the 24th over, the Pakistan opener rose to the occasion, but got out on 193 in the last over of the match, when South Africa wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock found him short of the crease. The visitors eventually lost the match by 17 runs.

“The fault was mine, as I was too busy looking out for Haris Rauf at the other end, as I felt he started off a little late from his crease, so I thought he was in trouble. The rest is up to the match referee, but I don’t think it’s Quinton’s fault,” Zaman said after the match.

Meanwhile South Africa captain Temba Bevuma praised the wicketkeeper, but also adding that the nature of the wicket could attract some criticism as well.

“It was quite clever from Quinny. Maybe some people might criticise it for maybe not being in the spirit of the game. But it was an important wicket for us. Zaman was getting close to our target. Yeah it was clever from Quinny.

“You’ve always got to look for ways especially when things are not going your way, got to find ways to turn momentum around. Quinny did that – I don’t think he broke the rules in any kind of way. It was a clever piece of cricket.”

It should be noted that had de Kock’s actions been construed to be deliberate, his side would have been slapped five penalty runs and the ball had to be re-bowled.

As per the MCC’s Law 41.5.1, “It is unfair for any fielder willfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.”

Related Articles

Babar Azam dethrones Kohli as No.1 ODI batsman

Pakistan complete away series win in South Africa

Fakhar hits record 193 but SA level series

Fakhar ruled out of New Zealand tour

Sami Aslam leaves Pakistan, decides to play for USA