Gabriel suspended for four ODIs by ICC

Windies fast bowler Shannon Gabriel has been suspended for four ODIs by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for being involved in a heated exchanged with Joe Root.

Root with Gabriel
It all started when England captain said “Don’t use it as an insult. There is nothing wrong with being gay,” which was heard in the stump-mic. It was not possible to hear what Gabriel said as there was no audio evidence.

However, charges were brought by the standing umpires, Kumar Dharmasena and Rod Tucker. In the next day, ICC charged Gabriel for breaching the code of conduct. He broke the 2.13 article which states “personal abuse of a Player, Player Support Personnel, Umpire or Match Referee during an international match.”

Also Read - ICC World Cup 2019: Lakshmipathy Balaji names another contender for India’s number 4

ICC finally came up with a decision on Wednesday and it was a massive one. Gabriel received a fine of 75% of his match fee and three demerit points for the Level 2 offence. It took him to eight demerit points within a 24 month period. It automatically equates to a ban from either two Tests or four ODIs or IT20s, whatever comes first.

As Windies will be playing five-match ODI series against England after the third Test, Gabriel has been suspended for the first four ODIs. The fast bowler receives a massive blow as he was set to be recalled to the ODI side.

Before this incident, Gabriel had already five demerit points for two incidents. He received three demerit points during the Jamaica Test match against Pakistan in April 2017 for barging Sarfraz Ahmed. Then he received another two demerit points in the Chittagong Test against Bangladesh last November for a similar incident involving Imrul Kayes.

Related Articles

Shane Warne impressed upon seeing Shyam Bhatia’s cricket museum in Dubai

Venues changed for Pakistan-Zimbabwe matches

Afghanistani umpire Bismillah Shinwari is alive and safe

Belinda Clark steps down as CA community chief

BCB postpones Sri Lanka series