Ganguly hopeful of starting India’s domestic season from January

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly has informed that the domestic cricket will be resumed from January 1 after it was stopped just after the pandemic started.

Sourav Ganguly picks dream India XI
It has been more than eight months since cricket has been played in India due to the pandemic. All the series and domestic matches are postponed until further notice and the Indian Premier League (IPL) was also set to not take place this year.

But in the end, after the postponement of the T20 World Cup, BCCI arranged the tournament in UAE. However, the domestic cricketers are struggling financially for not being able to play any games.

Also Read - IPL 2020: Bravo could be out for a while

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly has given them hope as he informed that domestic cricket will resume from January 1.

“We have had extensive discussions on domestic cricket and we have tentatively decided to start the competitions from January 1, 2021. We will certainly have the full fledged Ranji Trophy red-ball tournament. It will probably not be possible to hold all tournaments. We also have elaborate plans for our age group and women’s cricket. We will start with Ranji Trophy and then we will also have the other tournaments between March and April,” he said.

Ganguly also talked about the tour of Australia and their home series against England. He believes the Australia tour will happen accordingly while there is still plenty of time left to think about the England series.

“Cricket Australia has sent us an itinerary and we discussed the modalities of that itinerary. We will be playing four Tests and that will end in the third week of January. The England series is good three and a half to four months away. We still have time. We are monitoring the situation (COVID-19) which is pretty fluid and will take a call accordingly,” he concluded.

Related Articles

‘Few recently retired Indian players we are expecting to see in LPL’

A player reports alleged corrupt approach in IPL

Teams will be fined Rs 1 crore if they breach bio-secure bubble

Two Bangladeshi cricketers to participate in Women’s IPL 2020

IPL 2020: KM Asif first player to breach bio-secure bubble