Hales added as Warner’s replacement

England batsman Alex Hales has been added to Sunrisers Hyderabad squad as a replacement of Australia’s David Warner, who has been barred from this year’s IPL following ball-tampering scandal in South Africa.

Hales added as Warner's replacement

Sunrisers franchise confirmed the replacement on their official Twitter account.

Also Read - England on top despite a comeback from lower-order

Hales was bought for base price 1 INR crore from Registered and Available Player Pool (RAPP) list. This will be his second Indian Premier League team. Previously, he was picked by Mumbai Indians.

The Englishman is a top limited-overs performer. He has 4704 runs in 174 Twenty20 games at a strike rate of 144. He recently played in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) for Islamabad United.

IPL decided to suspend Warner and Steve Smith from this edition after they were handed one-year bans from Cricket Australia. Warner led Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2015-17. He won 2016 title with the franchise.

SRH named New Zealand’s Kane Williamson as their captain for this season. Williamson is New Zealand’s skipper in all formats. Fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar was named vice-captain.

Sunrisers will face Rajasthan Royals in their first game of IPL’s 11th season in a day-night game in Hyderabad on April 9.

Sunrisers Hyderabad squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shakib Al Hasan, Manish Pandey, Carlos Brathwaite, Yusuf Pathan, Wriddhiman Saha, Rashid Khan, Ricky Bhui, Deepak Hooda, Siddharth Kaul, T Natrajan, Basil Thampi, Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammad Nabi, Sandeep Sharma, Sachin Baby, Chris Jordan, Billy Stanlake, Tanmay Agarwal, Sreevats Goswami, Bipul Sharma, Mehdi Hasan, Alex Hales.

Related Articles

Disrepute charges for Ben Stokes and Alex Hales

Hales ruled out of ODI series

Alex Hales ruled out of the 1st ODI against India

Hales hails England to square series against India

England win series in run-fest