Harsha Bhogle picks T20 XI of the year 2019, Rohit misses out

Indian commentator Harsha Bhogle hit the headlines when he picked his T20 XI of the year on Cricbuzz. As far as openers are concerned, he went for Australia’s David Warner and India’s KL Rahul. David Warner has maintained his batting average of 70-plus in the T20s and scored over 1200 runs in 25 innings.

Harsha Bhogle picks T20 XI of the year 2019, Rohit misses out
Harsha Bhogle

The dangerous southpaw has also hit two centuries and 13 fifties in this format. KL Rahul, on the contrary, has scored 1262 runs in T20s with a splendid average of 50.48. According to Harsha Bhogle, KL Rahul will also be the wicket-keeper of his team.

As far as the middle-order is concerned, Bhogle made up his mind to pick the best pair- Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers. In 24 innings, Kohli has scored 930 runs while his friend AB de Villiers, has scored 1580 runs in 43 innings.

Also Read - Video: Cummins displays bowling masterclass to dismiss Latham

Bhogle went for West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard as the preferrable number 5. He slightly hesitated to choose between Pollard and Australia’s Glenn Maxwell, but eventually, he went for West Indies’ captain.

For the 6th and 7th slot, he has picked West Indies’ power-hitter Andre Russell and Afghanistan’s Mohammad Nabi. In 40 games alone, Russell claimed 33 wickets and scored 950-plus runs. Nabi has also been superb with his numbers this year. In 47 games, he scored 873 runs and bagged 32 wickets.

Afghan spin sensation Rashid Khan has been chosen as the spinner in Harsha Bhogle’s T20 XI of the year along with the experienced campaigner Imran Tahir.

Among the fast bowlers, Bhogle had no doubts in mind as he straight away went for Chris Jordan, Lasith Malinga and Deepak Chahar. Chris Jordan who used to concede too many runs and take less wickets has taken giant strides this year and made an indelible mark in the shortest format. He has claimed 41 wickets in 33 matches while the Malinga took 34 wickets in 26 games. Chahar has taken 55 T20 wickets in this year.

Take a look at Harsha Bhogle’s T20 XI of the year 2019

David Warner, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Mohammad Nabi, Chris Jordan, Deepak Chahar, Lasith Malinga, Imran Tahir.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Boucher warns Proteas players to step up or miss out

Styris names the best white-ball XI he has played against in his career

AB de Villiers in full contention to play T20I World Cup this year

IPL 2020: Royal Challengers Bangalore launch new jersey, logo

Yuvraj names three players who can score 200 in T20 cricket