Hosts New Zealand to kickstart 2021 World Cup in Auckland

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday (March 11) have launched the 2021 ICC Women’s World Cup, alongside releasing the 31-match schedule.New Zealand women team

The tournament will kick off with a clash between hosts New Zealand and a qualifier on February 6, 2021. Eden Park, Auckland will host the match.

Christchurch has been selected as the venue for final, where the title decider will be played on March 7 under lights. Besides Auckland, Hamilton, Tauranga, Wellington and Dunedin will host the games.

Also Read - Snake God offered prayer to keep rains away during India-South Africa ODI

The two semifinal matches will be held at Tauranga and Hamilton on March 3 and March 4 respectively.

The most relieving news, however, is that the three knockout games of the tournament will have reserve days, something that was not the case in Australia last week during the just concluded 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

Defending champions England, Australia, South Africa and hosts New Zealand have already qualified, while four more spots are up for grabs. The remaining teams will be confirmed following the conclusion of the Women’s Championship and the qualifying event in Sri Lanka in July.

The eight-team round robin format will see all teams play each other, with the top four teams qualifying for the semi-finals.

Prize money for the showpiece event of women’s cricket will be total NZD $5.5million, and all matches will be broadcast live to a huge global audience.Women's World Cup schedule

Related Articles

Watch: Van Beek takes a one-handed stunner to dismiss Hampton

Video: Phillips plays an innovative switch-hit off Bacon’s bowling

Former Kiwis cricketer Bill Playle dies aged 80