ICC announces Team of the Tournament: Shakib-Stokes only all-rounders

At the end of the twelfth edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the best team of the tournament comprising greatest performers of this edition.

ICC announces Team of the Tournament
Kane Williamson was adjudged Man of the Tournament. Photo: Getty Images

In the selected team, there are four cricketers included from the new World Cup champion England, two each from runner-up New Zealand, Australia and India.

Shakib Al Hasan became the only cricketer in the team who is out of the teams playing semi-final.

Also Read - ICC trolls Sachin in front of Ben Stokes

The ICC selected team is led by New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson who guided the team to the final with skilled captaincy and consistency with bat.

Selecting Kane Williamson to lead the side, ICC explained,

“The bedrock of New Zealand’s batting right through the tournament, Williamson was an immovable object at the crease and an astute captain, who impressed with his tactical nous.”

ICC praised Shakib Al Hasan’s performance in the just completed World Cup terming him as the torch-bearer of Bangladesh.

Bangladesh’s torch-bearer in this World Cup, Shakib is an automatic entrant into the best XI. Arguably the most valuable player of the 2019 World Cup, Shakib excelled both with bat and ball as he became the first cricketer to ever achieve the double of 500 runs and 10 wickets in a single edition of the tournament,” it has been written.

ICC Team of the Tournament: 

Rohit Sharma, Jason Roy, Kane Williamson (Captain), Joe Root, Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Stokes, Alex Carey (Wicket-keeper), Mitchell Starc, Jofra Archer, Lockie Farguson, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult (12th man). 

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Broad fined, handed demerit point for ‘audible obscenity’ to du Plessis

Faf du Plessis under scrutiny after physical altercation with Jos Buttler

England pacers wrap up commanding victory against South Africa

Watch: Faf du Plessis puts superman effort with one-handed catch

Quinton de Kock becomes fastest wicket-keeper to 200 Test dismissals