ICC announces Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 Team of the Tournament

At the end of the 8th edition of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the best team of the tournament comprising greatest performers of this edition.

ICC announces Women's T20 World Cup 2020 Team of the Tournament

In the selected team, there are five cricketers included from the World Cup champion Australia, only one from runner-up India, four from semi-finalist England and one from other semi-finalist South Africa.

Also Read - Kohli and AB de Villiers indulge in cryptic conversation

However, Shafali Verma from India makes the squad as a 12th man.

The ICC selected team is led by Australia skipper Meg Lanning who guided the team to the final with skilled captaincy and consistency with bat.She also led the team to win Australia’s fifth World Cup.

Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney were the two openers of Australia who scored fifties against Bangladeshin the group stage. In the finals, the duo came up with a scuffle and finished the match in the first 10 overs. As a result, there was a lot of talk about Shefali Verma in India, but she could not make into the main XI of Team of the Tournament.

Pacer Megan Schutt and left-arm spinner Jess Jonassen are also in the squad from Australia.

India’s Poonam Yadav has named in the team for his outstanding bowling throughout the whole tournament. She showed her skill with googly.

The remaining five places of the World Cup XI have been split between the other two teams in the semifinals. Laura Wolvaardt from South Africa is in the squad for the World Cup after losing to Australia in the semi-final.

And England have taken the remaining four places. In the top order, Nat Sciver and Heather Knight have got the benefit of delivering regular runs for England in the tournament. Sophie Ecclestone and Anya Shrubsole have claimed the bowling category in the team.

The team was selected by three former cricketers Ian Bishop, Anjum Chopra and Lisa Sthalekar. Their companions were journalist Raf Nicholson and ICC representative Holly Colvin.

ICC Team of the Tournament:

Alyssa Healy (wk), Beth Mooney, Nat Sciver, Heather Knight, Meg Lanning (c), Laura Wolvaardt, Jess Jonassen, Sophie Ecclestone, Anya Shrubsole, Megan Schutt, Poonam Yadav and Shafali Verma (12th man).

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Sania Mirza takes a swipe at subcontinent mentality

Australia clinch record fifth World Cup title

Starc cuts short SA tour to watch wife Alyssa Healy compete in T20WC final

Shane Watson appointed as President of Australian Cricketers’ Association

Australia women set ODI World record