ICC change super over rule for World Cup
The boundary count rule which made England the World Cup champion against New Zealand received a lot of criticism and forced ICC to take a look at it.
International Cricket Council (ICC) have made a massive change in the rule during the board meeting on Monday. The boundary count rule which made England the World Cup champion against New Zealand is changing.
ICC announced on the board meeting that the boundary y count will no longer be used to decide the result of a semi-final or final at an ICC event, in case of a tied Super Over. Instead, the Super Over will be repeated – for as many times as it takes – until one team has scored more runs than the other.
ICC released a statement on Monday:
“In Semi-finals and Finals, there is one change to the Super Over regulation in keeping with the basic principle of scoring more runs than the opponent to win, the Super Over will be repeated until one team has more runs than the other.”
“Following on from a recommendation from the ICC Cricket Committee, the Chief Executives’ Committee agreed that the use of the Super Over as a way to decide results at ICC events will be retained. Both, the Cricket Committee and CEC, agreed it was an exciting and engaging conclusion to the game and will remain in place covering all games at both ODI and T20I World Cups.”
In other others, the super over will be used a tie-breaker from now on during semi-final or final of the World Cup.