ICC clears Liam Plunkett of ball-tampering accusation
World Cricket’s governing body International Cricket Council (ICC) has cleared English fast bowler Liam Plunkett from ball tampering allegations during the second one day international match of the series against Pakistan.
Speculations arrived after footage emerged of the 34-year old pacer to scrape his fingers along the seam of the ball during the match at the Ageas Bowl on Saturday.
Match referee Richie Richardson said he was only spinning the ball in his fingers and later on-field umpire Chris Gaffaney also confirmed he had no suspicions over the condition of the ball.
England won the game by 12 runs to move 1-0 up in the five-match series.
A statement from ICC read,
“The match officials are comfortable that there was no attempt to change the condition of the ball or any evidence of this on the over-by-over examination of the ball throughout the game.”
Plunkett bowled the penultimate over conceding 8 runs and picked up the wicket of Faheem Ashraf. In the match he bowled 9 overs for 64 runs claiming the wicket of Haris Sohail.
The teams will meet again for the third ODI in Bristol on Tuesday.
— Waqas Ahmed (@ahmedwaqas92) May 12, 2019
JUST IN: The ICC has confirmed that the match officials are comfortable there was no attempt by Liam Plunkett to change the condition of the ball or any evidence of this on the over-by-over examinations of the ball throughout Saurday’s ODI clash in Southampton. pic.twitter.com/0gzwHq9s4h
— ICC (@ICC) May 12, 2019