ICC officially launches World Test Championship

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has on Monday 29 July 2019, officially launched the inaugural World Test Championship (WTC) which will get underway on August 1, 2019.

Kiwis announce squad for Sri Lanka Test series

The World Test Championship will see the top nine Test teams in the world – Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies to compete in 71 Test matches across 27 series that will see the end in 2021.

Also Read - Fernando's father admitted to hospital straight from Premadasa

The top two teams will contest in the ICC World Test Championship Final in June 2021 in the United Kingdom and the winners will be crowned ICC World Test Champions.

The first cycle of the WTC consists of only five-day matches which include day-night matches as well. Furthermore only matches identified as part of the WTC will count towards the championship.

ICC Media Release on launching World Test Championship

“The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup this summer showed just how important it is for every game to count and for the world’s best teams to go head-to-head. The World Test Championship will bring relevance and context to bilateral Test cricket over the next two years, creating a pinnacle event for the five-day format, just as the World Cups for men and women do in the ODI and T20I formats.”

For the first time, Bdcrictime launches Android Application. The largest cricket based online portal BdcricTime App is administering ball by ball live scores of all international and Bangladesh matches and latest news coverage. Search Google Play-store to download the app or click in the link <a href=”“> Encourage us with your well thought rating.




Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

BCB denies FICA’s allegations

Irish pacer Little faces punishment for violating ICC Code of Conduct

TV umpire’s no ball call will not help the game : Steve Bucknor

Big Changes in bowler’s Test ranking after ENG-WI series

ICC undecided about future of Test Championship final