ICC slim down ODI status from WC 2019 qualifier matches

The International Cricket Council has confirmed its decision of not to sanction official one day status to some of the matches of the 2019 World Cup qualifier tournament. The decision, was, however, assured in the meeting of ICC cricket committee.

Sri Lanka or West Indies: Who to go through qualifiers for WC 2019?

Along with host Zimbabwe, ten teams including two times world title holder West Indies will contest in the qualifying round for the World Cup 2019 in England.

Also Read - BBL leading scorer cracks coach Kirsten' jaw with nasty hitting

Ironically for the Caribbean team failing to confirm a direct spot in the mega tournament, would magnanimously suffer if they could not make the qualification, said by Jason Holder, the West Indies’ captain.

“We all know the magnitude and importance of this event as we look to qualify for the World Cup,” he said.

“It will be a challenge and we sat down and have formulated plans as to how best to approach the tournament. It will be short and we will treat every match as a must-win game.”

The 2019 World Cup will run in England from May 30 to July 15.

Group A: Windies (A1); Ireland (A2); Netherlands (A3); Papua New Guinea (A4); ICC World Cricket League Division 2 (WCL Div.2) winner (A5)

Group B: Afghanistan (B1); Zimbabwe (B2); Scotland (B3); Hong Kong (B4); ICC World Cricket League Division 2 (WCL Div.2) runners-up (B5)

Related Articles

Harbhajan believes Kohli will be World Cup winner soon

NZ were ‘bit lucky’ to play the World Cup final: McCullum

AB de Villiers reveals his ‘influential’ discussion with Shakib during BPL

Legends do yawn

Munro looks to set his future plan for upcoming years