India announce 15-man squad for South Africa ODIs

After a disappointing tour of New Zealand, India will be up against South Africa for the three-match ODI series. South Africa have already announced the 15-man ODI squad. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday had announced India squads for the upcoming home series, which is scheduled to be played between March 12 and 18.

India announce 15-man squad for South Africa ODIs

The first ODI will be played at HPCA Stadium, Dharamshala on March 12, Thursday. Virat Kohli will lead India’s 15-man ODI squad for South Africa series. The Sunil Joshi-led 5-member selection panel recalled fit-again all-rounder Hardik Pandya, opener Shikhar Dhawan and paceman Bhubaneswar Kumar.

Also Read - Australia clinch record fifth World Cup title

Meanwhile, vice-captain Rohit Sharma is still not ready for international cricket as he picked up a calf injury during a T20I series in New Zealand. He subsequently missed the ODI followed by the Test series.

In fact, this is the first time that the new selection panel led by Sunil Joshi picked the India team. Joshi and Harvinder Singh were added to the five-member panel previously this month by the Cricket Advisory Committee.

Pandya underwent back surgery in October 2019 and has not played international cricket since the third T20I against South Africa in Bengaluru in September last year. With Pandya proving his fitness and form in the DY Patil T20 tournament, chipping in with scores of 46, 105, 38 and 158*.

“He is fit and is set to return to the national team. Having first undergone rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy and now his performance in the T20 tournament has pretty much made it clear that he is fit to return to the fold,” the source added.

Shikhar Dhawan, who sustained a shoulder injury during the ODI series against Australia, was right back action in the DY Patil tournament in Mumbai.

In the pace bowling department, Jasprit Bumrah has been picked in the squad while Mohammed Shami has been rested. Meanwhile, pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been recalled for the first time since the West Indies series in December 2019.

India’s 15-member ODI squad for South Africa series:

Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

MSK Prasad suggests 26-man India squad for Australia tour

Cricketers pick Bhuvneshwar as their girlfriend in Yuvraj’s gender swap photo

‘India’s fast-bowling unit might be the best in the history of cricket’

Sammy’s allegation of racism proves true as Ishant called him ‘kalu’ on Instagram

Chahal has been the biggest joker for me in this lockdown: Kohli