India announce ODI and T20I squad for England-Ireland tour

India have announced their 16-man squad ODI squad for the three-match series in England in July. KL Rahul, who is in the middle of a splendid IPL season, makes his way back while 27-year-old Punjab speedster Siddarth Kaul has been included in both, the ODI and T20I squads.

Meanwhile, Ajinkya Rahane has been left out of the squad. Rahane was tasked with making the No. 4 position his own earlier this year in South Africa, after a host of options since the 2017 Champions Trophy didn’t live up to expectations.

Also Read - Afghanistan series fixtures confirmed

BCCI have also brought back 32-year-old Ambati Rayudu, who last played an ODI in June 2016. Like Rahul and Kaul, Rayudu too has enjoyed a fantastic IPL 2018, topping the batting charts in CSK colours.

In the T20I squad, Suresh Raina and Pandey continue to be trusted to shore up the middle-order, while Umesh Yadav – who has been amongst the wickets in IPL 2018 – makes a comeback after last featuring in the shortest format in Sri Lanka in 2012. Washington Sundar and Dinesh Karthik have also kept their places intact and got their reward for their amazing performance in the Nidahas Trophy.

The pace department includes the two regulars – Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar – while Jaydev Unadkat and Shardul Thakur, who played in South Africa and Sri Lanka, are a couple of absentees for the upcoming series.

ODI squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

T20I squad: Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul,Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Siddarth Kaul, Umesh Yadav


Related Articles

India Dominate Despite Cook’s 71

Watch: Joe Root’s Bat Drop celebration

Highlights: England vs India, 3rd T20I

Watch: Dhoni’s record breaking 6 dismissals in the series decider

Twitterati hail India after famous series win