India announce squad for Nidahas Trophy 2018

Resting as many as six front line cricketers, Indian selectors have announced the squad for the forthcoming Nidahas Trophy, 2018 scheduled to be held in Sri Lanka from March 6.

India announce squad for Nidahas Trophy 2018

The rested players are – captain Virat Kohli, former captain MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ পাঁচ সেরা ক্রিকেটার ছাড়াই নিদাহাস ট্রফির ভারত দল ঘোষণা]

Also Read - 'My hand condition is getting better everyday' says Shakib

In the Twenty20 competition arranged to celebrate Sri Lanka’s 70th Independence that also include Bangladesh, India will look forward to young, rising prospects like Washington Sundar, Deepak Hooda, Mohammed Siraj, Vijay Shankar and Rishabh Pant.

It was earlier been confirmed that Rohit Sharma will lead the side in absence of regular captain Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan will do the deputy.

Chairman of selectors MSK Prasad later explained, “We’ve kept in mind the workload and upcoming schedule while finalizing the team for Nidahas Trophy. The high-performance team has suggested that adequate rest should be given to our fast bowlers to help improve athletic performance, maximize rest and prevent injury.”

All the rested senior players played across the formats in the just completed away series against South Africa where India picked series victories both in ODI and T20I after being defeated in the Test series.

India will face host Sri Lanka in the opening match of the tournament on March 6.

Here’s India’s 15-men squad:
1) Rohit Sharma (Captain), 2) Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), 3) KL Rahul, 4) Suresh Raina, 5) Manish Pandey, 6) Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), 7) Deepak Hooda, 8) Washington Sundar, 9) Yuzvendra Chahal, 10) Axar Patel, 11) Vijay Shankar, 12) Shardul Thakur, 13) Jaydev Unadkat, 14) Mohammad Siraj, 15) Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper)

Related Articles

Rain spoils party at MCG

India vs Windies 2018: India’s Predicted Playing XI for 1st T20I

Rohit, Vijay return to the Test side

Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar return for the remaining Windies ODIs

Bangladesh hit by low total against India