India announce squad for WTC Final and England Test series

BCCI announced India’s squad for the ICC World Test Championship Final against New Zealand and the five-match Test series against England in England.

With the postponement of this year’s edition of the Indian Premier League, BCCI and the Indian Cricket team are gearing up for yet another bigger milestone in front of the national Test team. Up next, India’s international fixture will be the ICC World Test Championship Final against New Zealand which will be played at Southampton, England.

Also Read - PCB approaches hosting PSL in UAE

The Final of the ICC Test Championship will be played at Southampton from June 18 to June 22. Following the Test Championship Final, India will play a five-match Test series against England which will kickstart India’s next Test Championship.

Following that the five-match Test series against England will start on August 4th at Nottingham. It will be followed by Lord’s (August 12-16), Leeds (August 25-29), The Oval (September 2-6) and Old Trafford (September 10-14). Ahead of the long tour in England, BCCI released the squad for the Test Championship Final and Test series against England.

The squad features all the contributors in India’s road to the final in the ICC World Test Championship. Ravindra Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari, and Mohammed Shami are also back into the Indian Test squad after missing out on the last home Test series against England due to injury. KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha are subjected to fitness clearance, considering their present conditions.

India’s squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla


Related Articles

CWI agrees to change CPL 2021 dates on BCCI’s plea

Chandila approaches court to get his ban lifted

‘We had strong spot-fixing evidence in IPL against these three’

Dravid will be coach for Sri Lanka tour, Ganguly confirms

Sri Lankan players to get second dose of vaccine after England tour