India announce Test squad for Sri Lanka series

After a humiliating series against India at home, Sri Lanka are yet again to battle against the men in blue this time in the Indian soil. The teams will play 3 Tests, 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is. 

The series will start with the longer format of the game starting from 16th November at Kolkata. Sri Lanka have already announced their Test squad and India have now announced their squad for the first two tests on Thursday. 

Also Read - Sujon ready to take coaching role of Bangladesh

Even though all-rounder Hardik Pandya was initially named in India’s 16-man squad for the first two Tests, the selection committee, after consulting the team management, opted to rest him considering his recent workload.

India squad for first two Tests: Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, M Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.

Sri Lanka squad: LD Chandimal (c), DM de Silva, N Dickwella (wk), M Fernando, P Gamage, R Herath, F Karunaratne, S Lakmal, A Mathwes, Dilruwan Perera, S Samarawickmara, L Sandakan, M Shanaka, R Silva, L Thirimanne.

Related Articles

Sri Lanka outplayed South Africa in last ODI

Angelo Mathews returns as captain

Mathews, Gamage out of Windies tour

 I keep telling my team that we are representing 23 million people: Mathews

Mathews ruled out of Nidahas Trophy