India beats New Zealand; Pakistan becomes no. 1 T20I Team

After a competitive ODI series between New Zealand and India, Blackcaps couldn’t stand strong in the 1st T20I as they suffered defeat by a huge margin of 53 runs. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ ভারতের জয়ে শীর্ষে পাকিস্তান]

In Ashish Nehra’s last T20I match, India were put into bat first by Kane Williamson and it didn’t go well for the Kiwis as India were off to a flying start. 

Also Read - Striking pacer Malinga turns scary off-spinner, grabs three wickets

Blackcaps only had themselves to blame after they dropped two easy catches in the beginning. Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan’s opening stand went past 100 runs and they were both out for 80 runs in the end. 

Skipper Virat Kohli’s little cameo of 26 runs off just 11 balls helped India to post a huge score of 202 runs. The only man who had a good day with the bowl for New Zealand was Ish Sodhi who picked up 2 wickets and just conceded 25 runs. 

In reply, New Zealand lost Martin Guptill early and couldn’t go well with the required run rate. The spinners made in roads in important stages which resulted a huge defeat of 53 runs. 

With that, India lead the 3 match T20I series 1-0 and that favored Pakistan too as they have now became the number one T20I team for the first time overtaking New Zealand. 

Brief score: 

  • IND 202/3 (20 ov) | Rohit 80 (55), Dhawan 80 (52) | Sodhi 2/25 
  • NZ 149/8 (20 ov) | Latham 39 (36) | Chahal 2/26, Axar 2/20

Result: India won by 53 runs

Related Articles

Ashish Nehra announces retirement from all format of the game

India announces T20I squad; Nehra recalled

Gambhir, Nehra hit back at Ranatunga

Nehra ruled out of IPL with injury