India name ODI squad to play Australia

Ashwin and Jadeja will miss the ODI series against Australia
Ashwin and Jadeja will miss the ODI series against Australia // Getty

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday, have announced 16-man Indian squad for the first three ODIs against World champions Australia, with pacers Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami being recalled.[বাংলায় পড়ুনঃভারত দল থেকে বাদ পড়লেন অশ্বিন, জাদেজা]

The selectors yet again have chosen to rest leading spinners Ashwin and Jadeja who were left out of the ODI squad that recently thrashed Sri Lanka 5-0.

Ashwin was dropped during the ICC Champions Trophy in June and Jadeja in the series against the West Indies in July.

Also Read - Mahmudullah to make Test return, Nasir under threat

However, selection committee chairman MSK Prasad says the pair have been rested for the Australia series, not dropped.

“The team for the three ODIs against Australia has been selected in line with the rotation policy of the Board and accordingly R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested,” MSK Prasad said in a statement.

He added, “The team’s performance during the Sri Lanka tour was outstanding and players like Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, who performed very well are being given an extended run and this will in turn supplement our approach, to build a strong reserve strength, as we prepare for forthcoming tours.”

To be noted, India and Australia will play five ODIs and three T20 matches during their limited-overs series, starting with the first 50-over clash in Chennai on Sept 17.

India ODI Squad : Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

– Nazmus Sajid Chowdhury, Contributor,

Related Articles

Ajinkya Rahane to lead Mumbai in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Kohli-Rahane salvage India from first day disaster at Trent Bridge

Top five knocks by Indians on English soil

Five Indian Players to watch out for in the test series.

Rahane replaces Smith as Rajasthan Royals captain