India name squad for Test series of Sri Lanka tour

India name squad for Test series of Sri Lanka tour

India cricket team are going to tour in Sri Lanka later this month to play a full series of three Tests, five ODIs and one T20I match. Ahead of the tour, Board of Control for Cricket in  India (BCCI) has announced 16-men Test squad on Sunday.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has selected the squad of Test series for Sri Lanka series. Selection Committee drops Karun Nair and includes Rohit Sharma in the squad.

Also Read - Magnificent Lewis ruins India's dream in one-off T20I

Rohit Sharma is all set to make a comeback in the prestigious format of cricket after a long time. To be noted, this sensation batsman of India has not played Test cricket since 2016. He played last Test match against Zimbabwe. Besides Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya has been also included In the squad of Sri Lanka tour. Now, he has to be patient to make his Test debut.

It is mentioned, India is going to tour Sri Lanka to play a full series after long-awaited eight years. To be noted, Test series between this two teams will go underway from 26 July in Galle. The second and third Tests of the series will be played at Colombo and Kandy on 3-7 August and 12-16 August.

India squad for Sri Lanka Test series: Virat Kohli (Captain), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice captain), Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, W Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, M Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.

Imran Hasan, Correspondent,

Related Articles

CSA apologizes Momentum after shocking tweet

Crowd to return in Australia-New Zealand series

BCB to resume domestic cricket

BCB faces uncertainty over Sri Lanka tour

Australia and England players set to miss the first part of IPL