India take T20I series with Super Over victory

Yet another Super Over heartbreak for New Zealand, as they have been beaten by India in a thrilling manner in the third match of the series in Hamilton to concede the series.Sharma last ball six

India have taken a 3-0 unassailable lead in the series, having won the previous two matches as well.

India had to defend 9 runs in the final over, with Mohammed Shami in strike with the ball in hand. Even after blown away with a six on the first ball of the over, he eventually forced a tie. He dismissed Kane Williamson, who smacked a gorgeous 95 off 48 balls, and secured two dot balls against Tim Seifert, before dismissing Ross Taylor on the final delivery of the innings.

Also Read - ACC to hold meeting in February regarding Asia Cup

Coming to bat first in the Super Over, New Zealand put up 17 runs on the board, with Williamson once again top-scoring for his side. Jasprit Bumrah was the bowler for India, but he conceded a six and a four off two consecutive deliveries to Williamson, and was also hit for a boundary by Martin Guptill in the final over.

Chasing a target of 18 runs, India were relying on Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul. Though India had a considerably poor start and could not amass more than 8 runs off first four deliveries, the Indian vice captain smashed two sixes off the final two deliveries to steer India to a breathtaking victory.

Earlier in the match, India had scored 179 for five wickets, riding on Sharma’s 65 off 40 balls alongside Virat Kogli’s 38 (27 balls). Hamish Bennett took three wickets for his side, dismissing Kohli, Shivam Dube and Shreyas Iyer.

In reply, the Kiwis run chase had Kane Williamson’s name all over it. His 95-run knock included 8 fours and 6 fours, but he failed to eventually take his side home. Martin Guptill was the second highest scorer for the Kiwis with 31 off 21 balls. Shardul Thakur and Mohammed Shami took two wickets each.

Brief scores: India 179/5 in 20 overs (Rohit Sharma 65, Virat Kohli 38; Hamish Bennett 3-54) vs New Zealand 179/6 in 20 overs (Kane Williamson 95, Martin Guptill 31; Mohammad Shami 2-32, Shardul Thakur 2-31). Match tied (India won the Super Over)

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Warner responds to TikTok ban in India

World third largest stadium to built in Jaipur, India

Rule on the toss was changed after World Cup final 2011

Akash Chopra trolls himself in Twitter, in a dismissal video of Brett Lee

Pat Cummins: IPL return in October would be ‘great for cricket’