IPL 11 kicks off in MI-CSK El Classico

The eleventh edition of Vivo Indian Premier League T20 is all set to kick off. The first match will be between the arch-rivals Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

IPL 11 kicks off in MI-CSK El Classico

Mumbai are the defending champions after they defeated Rising Pune Supergiant in the Final last year. They have the most number of IPL trophies (3).

Also Read - Fizz asks support for Mumbai Indians

Chennai, on the other hand, are returning to IPL after a two-year suspension. CSK are the most consistent IPL team of all time with entering the playoffs all eight times and reaching Finals six times including two championship titles.

CSK and MI have faced each other in 22 matches with Mumbai winning 12 of those. At Wankhede, the hosts have five wins out of seven against the men in yellow.

Skipper MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo and Murali Vijay have regrouped in the CSK team. MI also have Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, the Pandya brothers – Krunal and Hardik, and Mitchell McClenaghan from last season.

CSK won’t have Faf du Plessis in the playing XI in their first match as he is suffering from an injury that he sustained in South Africa. Shane Watson, Sam Billings, Bravo and Mark Wood are their likely overseas start-ups.

Bangladesh’s Mustafizur Rahman is most likely to play in the game. Evin Lewis, Pollard and McClenaghan could be the other three foreign players.

Like XIs:

Mumbai Indians: Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan (wk), Rohit Sharma (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mustafizur Rahman, Jasprit Bumrah, Rahul Chahar.

Chennai Super Kings: Murali Vijay, Sam Billings, Suresh Raina, Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (captain & wk), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Shardul Thakur, Mark Wood.

The match will start at 8:00 pm local time (8:30 Bangladesh Standard Time). Star Sports 1 will telecast the match live.


-Ruffin, Correspondent,

Related Articles

Prizes and Prize money compilations of IPL 2018

Rampage Watson gives CSK 3rd IPL title

Preview: SRH’s 2nd or CSK’s 3rd?

du Plessis drives CSK into 7th Final

Time table of Indian Premier League 2018 play-off matches