IPL 12: Aussie and English cricketers not available beyond May 1

Australian and English cricketers will not be available for participation in the next Indian Premier League (IPL) beyond May (1), informed the Cricket Australia (CA) and the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB).

IPL 12 Aussie and English cricketers not available beyond May 1
The venue for IPL 12 is still undecided.

The decision, understandably, is in view of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, which starts in England on May 31.

However, it is expected that the New Zealand players will be available till the end of the league, while there is a talk that the South Africans will be leaving the tournament after May 12.

As to where the tournament would be held eventually is a matter still unclear. Because of the general election of India, the IPL could be either held in South Africa or UAE, or a part of it could still take place in India.

Also Read - Herath reveals his best Test memory at Galle and reason behind retiring after first Test

Meanwhile, the auction for IPL 12 will be held on December 17 and 18, and Jaipur has been selected as the venue for the auction.

“We wanted the auction to be conducted after the venue is known so that we could have chosen our players accordingly but the BCCI has its own timelines to follow,” said a franchise official, while another said, “We understand that the venue would be known by then.”

Next year’s IPL, the biggest franchise-based tournament in the world, will likely begin on March 29 and come to an end by the middle of May, keeping in mind the Lodha recommendation of respecting a 15-day break between the IPL and any other cricket tournament, which in this case is the World Cup.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

IPL 2020 transfer window closed: Full list of traded players

IPL trades: Trent Boult moves to Mumbai Indians from Delhi Capitals

Watch: David Warner’s daughter claims herself to be Virat Kohli

Delhi coach Ponting expresses his happiness to have R Ashwin in his team

IPL 2020: Kings XI Punjab trade Ravichandran Ashwin to Delhi Capitals