IPL 2021: CSK CEO makes huge announcement about Dhoni’s retirement

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the second most successful captain in the history of the Indian Premier League. The former Indian captain steered Chennai Super Kings to three IPL trophies. Under his captaincy, CSK made it into the final on 8 occasions, which is more than any other team.

IPL 2021: CSK CEO makes huge announcement about Dhoni's retirement

CSK also made it a habit of qualifying for the playoffs in all their participating seasons. However, things didn’t really go according to the plan for the yellow army in the 2020 season in the United Arab Emirates.

Also Read - Watch: Kane Williamson plays splendid shots in training session

MS Dhoni’s side were defeated 8 times as they managed to win just 6 games. They finished 7th in the IPL 2020 points table. Dhoni had a poor spell as a captain and batsman.

Dhoni scored just 200 runs in 14 games at a poor batting average of 25. He also struggled to run between the wickets. Following his terrible season, the majority of the fans, experts were of the opinion that Dhoni had already played his last season at CSK.

However, the skipper himself confirmed that 2020 is not his last season. The popular phrase “Definitely not” trended on social media platforms. Meanwhile, CSK CEO Kasi Viswanathan made a big announcement about MS Dhoni’s retirement ahead of the IPL 2021 season.

CSK CEO added that this won’t the MS Dhoni’s final year with CSK. While speaking to The Indian Express, Viswanathan said: “See, I don’t think it is going to be his final year. This is my personal view and I don’t think we are looking at anybody now.”

CSK will begin their campaign when they lock horns with Delhi Capitals on April 10 at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

CSK retained players

MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, N Jagadeesan, Faf Du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sam Curran, Ravi Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Mitchell Santner, Shardul Thakur, Karn Sharma, KM Asif, Imran Tahir, R. Sai Kishore, Deepak Chahar, Lungi Ngidi.

Additions – Moeen Ali, Krishnappa Gowtham, Harisankar Reddy, Bhagvath Varma and Cheteshwar Pujara

CSK full squad – IPL 2021

Faf du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, N. Jagadeesan (wk), Robin Uthappa, MS Dhoni (c/wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, R. Sai Kishore, Mitchell Santner, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Ngidi, KM Asif, Moeen Ali, K Gowtham, Cheteshwar Pujara, M Harisankar Reddy, K. Bhagath Varma, C Hari Nishanth

Related Articles

Dhoni fined for CSK’s slow over-rate

After getting dropped during Australia tour, I worked hard on myself: Shaw

I have learnt a lot from MS Dhoni: Rishabh Pant

IPL 2021: Dhawan reacts after being awarded the man of the match

Execution of bowlers was poor: MS Dhoni