Ishan and bowlers keep MI up and alive

Mumbai Indians keep their winning run going after a big win against Kolkata Knight Riders in the match number 41 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) and with that the hopes of qualifying in the play-off remains alive too.

Kolkata Knight Riders elected to bowl first and Mustafizur Rahman had to warm the bench yet again for Mumbai Indians as the defending champions didn’t change their winning combination.

Also Read - Afghanistan-Bangladesh T20I schedule announced

After Suryakumar Yadav (36) and Even Lewis (18) gave a good opening start, the skipper of MI, Rohit Sharma along with Ishan Kishan built a massive partnership. The skipper departed for a steady knock of 36 runs from 31 balls but the youngster’s brutal knock of 62 runs off just 21 balls guided MI all the way to a mammoth score of 210 runs.

Ishan hit five fours and six sixes as he brought up his fifty in 17 balls, the joint second-fastest to reach the milestone with Sunil Narine who also completed his half century in 17 balls against Royal Challengers Bangalore.  Along with his skipper, he built  a 82-run partnership for the third wicket off just 34 balls.

In reply, KKR kept struggling in the chase right from the word go as both the firing openers Suni Narine (4) and Chris Lynn (21) failed to give a good start.

After their departure, none of the batsman couldn’t make a mark and the wickets kept tumbling and it threw them out of the game even before the second phase of the innings.  All the MI bowlers contributed equally and picked up wickets with Pandya brothers picking up two wickets each to seal a mammoth win of 102 runs.

Watch Lewis’s wicket here-

Brief score:

MI 210/6 (20 ov) | Rohit 36 (31), Ishan 62 (21) | P Chawla 3/43
KKR 118 (18.1 ov) | Lynn 21 (15) | H Pandya  2/16, K Pandya 2/12

Result: Mumbai Indians won by 102 runs

Related Articles

A Fan Asked Mayanti Langer For A Date, She Gave A Heart-Winning Reply!

IPL 2018: 3 captaincy replacement options available for RCB

IPL 2018: Best XI of the tournament

Watch Shakib’s performance in IPL final

Rampage Watson gives CSK 3rd IPL title