Jason Roy fined for breaching code of conduct
Jason Roy played a match-winning innings to help England reach the final of the World Cup for the first time since 1992.
England’s Jason Roy had a tournament to remember so far as he played consistently beautiful cricket throughout the tournament. He proved his worth yet again in the crucial game with his stunning knock of 85 runs off just 65 balls.
Roy started the innings with all guns blazing and he smashed the bowler of the tournament Mitchell Starc all over the park. With 9 fours and 5 sixes, he was well on course to score a magnificent hundred. But a wrong decision from umpire Kumar Dharmasena ended Roy’s dream of scoring a hundred in a World Cup semi-final.
During the 19th over, Roy tried to play a pull shot of Starc’s bouncer, but he completely missed it. The Aussie wicket-keeper and Starc went up thinking that he has nicked the ball and in the end, Dharmasena raised the finger after thinking for a while.
Roy was absolutely stunned with the decision and he wanted to take review straight away. But the dynamic batsman forgot that England had no review left and he has to walk away. It made Roy more furious and he exchanged some words with the umpires before walking away.
In the end, Roy has to consider himself unlucky as he was found guilty of ICC’s code of conduct breach and he was fined 30 per cent of the match fees. He was found guilty of breaching Article 2.8 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel after showing dissent to the umpire upon his dismissal in the 19th over of the innings.
The opening batsman admitted the offence and sanction. Therefore, no formal hearing will take place. Two demerit points have been added to his disciplinary record, but he is free to play the final against New Zealand.